Clinicians Committee

Works with SMHP’s Clinical Guidelines Advisory Board to develop and promote standardized protocols for implementing metabolic health interventions in the clinical setting. If you are an SMHP member and would like volunteer to help this committee out, please fill in the form at the bottom of the page.

Adele Hite - Square

Adele Hite, MHP, RD, PhD

Committee Chair

Adele Hite, PhD, RDN is a registered dietitian with a doctorate in rhetoric, communication, and digital media, and graduate training in nutritional epidemiology and public health. Her work combines biomedicine and cultural studies to explore food politics, nutrition science, and public health nutrition policy, specifically the historical, social, and political contexts surrounding the creation and evolution of the U.S. Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

She has published articles in the fields of health science, food studies, and public policy. Her writing has addressed relationships between diet and chronic disease, as well as racial, ethnic, and gendered aspects of food, nutrition and public health. She has presented papers at national and international conferences for scholars and professionals from a variety of fields, including medicine, dietetics, agriculture, food studies, and ancestral health. In addition, she is the co-author of a mix-and-match meal planning cookbook, Dinner Plans: Easy Vintage Meals.

In 2019, working with LowCarb USA, she led a global effort to create a general protocol that is used internationally to guide health care professionals in using therapeutic carbohydrate restriction to treat metabolic disease. She is a research scholar at Ronin Institute and currently works as a senior writer for the online health

Vyvyane Loh, MD

Miriam Kalamian, EdM, MS, CNS

Nicholeas Norwitz, PhD, MHP, MD-Canditate

Doug Reynolds, MHP

Clinical Guidelines Advisory Board

David Cavan, MD, FRCP

Mark Cucuzzella MD, FAAFP

Robert Cywes, MD, PhD

Georgia Ede, MD

Gary Fettke, MB, BS, FRACS, FAOrthA

Brian Lenzkes, MD

Prof Tim Noakes, MBCHB, MD, PhD

Bret Scher, MD

Franziska Spritzler, RD, CDE

David Unwin, FRCGP

Eric C. Westman, MD, MHS

William S. Yancy Jr., MD, MSH